Freshness Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
Fan Adventures? How do.
Online 11-27-2016, 06:16 PM
Reply: #1
Fan Adventures? How do.
I figured that this would be more suitable for Tips and Tricks than for the Fan Adventures board, but if it's not, I suppose I'll simply move it. Whatever, that's not the point of this memo. What the point of this memo is, is that I really want to reach out to other board members who make fan adventures, because I'm really curious as to what kind of work goes into making a fan adventure. I have no actual experience making a full-on narrative, and honestly I'm not even sure where I'd even start. And hey! Maybe other people can find this memo and get some neat little pointers from people with actual experience.

You know, things like, 'how much planning should one do before diving into such a task?', 'what kind of resources should one have prepared before starting?', 'how much creative control should the readers have?', that kind of stuff. Is it the kind of thing you can just start on a whim and be able to keep up with? Or should I spend a while slowly building up to it?

Thanks in advance!
I'm totally not planning on doing anything with this information. ;^)

Find all replies by this user
Edit this reply Quote this message in a reply
Offline 11-27-2016, 11:36 PM
Reply: #2
RE: Fan Adventures? How do.
First of all, there is no universally "right" way and the "wrong" way. Just the more optimised ways and the less optimized ones. As long as you AND your readers enjoy it, even the less optimized ways work.

Now, onto the questions:

What kind of resources should one have prepared before starting?